8 Episodes

Grits follows the story of a black, queer community surviving and thriving in the Deep South. Set in Plaquemine, Louisiana, Grits brings queerness to the forefront without shying away from the taboo.

Our story focuses on the key parts of black gay life in the Deep South: Realness, Sex, Love, Strife, and Church.

  • The Shindig (Pilot)

    Episode 1

    Down in Plaquemine Louisiana, Miss Rhea Sunshine, an old school drag queen and proud drag mother of four, is hosting a birthday party for one of her children, Josiah. In the midst of planning the festivities, Josiah and his brothers discover Josiah’s boyfriend Walter has been keeping a nasty ‘lil...

  • Hush Your Mouth

    Episode 2

    Welcome to the stage, Miss Basil Sinclaire! Rhea and her fellow queens get ready for their weekly performance at the Sugar Factory under the leadership of club owner Beverly. Before the performance, Ms. Mister gathers the family together to make a special announcement, which Rhea isn’t too happy ...

  • Heavens to Betsy

    Episode 3

    Ms. Mister reveals to the family what the spirits told him. As panic begins to set in for everyone, Moodie, Brooklyn, and Jamie experience problems in their thrupple. Daniel gets to know Ever a little better. Quest and Josiah make it big (sorta)! As Ms. Mister feared, “Baron Samedi” pays a visit.

  • Goodness Gracious

    Episode 4

    Ms. Mister learns more about Ever. Detective Bordelon begins the investigation into the events at the Sugar Factory. Stanka finds a new and enticing venture. Two new members are officially welcomed into the family.

  • That Dog Don't Hunt

    Episode 5

    Daniel and Ever have sex for the first time, but an unfortunate incident leaves Daniel mortified. Quest and Josiah get ready for their big night, but things aren’t looking too hot. Tiffany and Eli get into a fight while Stanka works on building a production team and getting sponsors for his Freak...

  • The Crossroads

    Episode 6

    Chess receives news about his estranged father and starts spiraling. Stanka and his team begin filming for their Freak Fans. Jamie confronts Moodie and Brooklyn about their relationship. Chess asks Rhea to meet him outside of the Sugar Factory to talk.

  • Sh!t Hits the Fan

    Episode 7

    When Ms. Mister’s Cousin Frankie comes back to town, she ends up stirring trouble within the family as her big mouth leads to well-kept secrets being revealed. Meanwhile, Chess gets caught up with a mischievous stranger and Eli loses his temper.

  • Havin' a Conniption - (Series Finale)

    Episode 8

    It’s been two months since everything went down. Everyone’s upset and this once solid community, united by love and acceptance, is completely broken apart. What’s it gonna take to bring this family back together? Ms. Mister has an idea that just might work!